Keweenaw County Planning Commission Regular Meeting Minutes – December 11, 2012

Keweenaw County Courthouse 4:00 PM

Roll Call: Jon Soper, Chairman

Jim Huovinen, member Steven Siira, member

Richard Schaefer, member Ann Gasperich ZA

John Parsons, Vice Chair,

Ned Huwatschek, member

Don Piche, Commissioner Ann

Members excused Tom Hall

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited

M/S/A by John/Steve to approve the agenda with the addition of backyard poultry under old business.

M/S/A by John/Jim to approve with the correction of page two, from John to Richard regarding the review of the ordinance for other corrections, of the minutes of November 26^{th} , 2012.

Russ Grunwald and Bill Hodges were introduced. Other guests included Jim Vivian, Eagle Harbor Township residents Bill Eddy, Mike Erm, Mary Beyers, Ole Van Goor, Jeane Olson and Connie Eddy.

New Business

Status of Mining in the Copper Country – Russ gave a presentation on the status of Keweenaw Copper Company – they currently have 34 employees. They have drilled 160 holes at "543" the Gratiot site, at times having 4 drilling rigs active. They have prepared the road to D-2, the site name for the location near Bete Gris. If they wrap up drilling at 543 in January they will move to D-2 to begin drilling there. The feasibility determination is still set for October of 2015. The company continues to update their website with new releases that can be found at http://www.highlandcopper.com.

Unfinished Business

Backyard poultry – John presented his recommendations, it was discussed and additions were recommended. Ann will present final form for the January meeting.

Zoning Administrator's Report

The report was received and will be placed on file.

Correspondence -- none

Public Comments -- None

Commission Final Comments – Jon wished everyone a Happy Holiday.

Being no further business the meeting was adjourned Next Regular Meeting – January 29, 2013, 6:00 p.m. Courthouse

Notes from the Mining webnar -

In attendance were: Jon Soper, Ann Gasperich, Bill Eddy, Mary Beyers, Mike Erm, Jim Huovinen, Ned Huwatschek, Frank Kastelic, John Parsons, Richard Schaefer, Steven Siira, Rich Probst, Heane Olson, Connie Eddy, Ole VanGoor, Doug Shirk, Jim Vivian and Paul Taipale.

The program was well received.